TEXAS HUNTERS EDUCATION CLASS INFORMATION
Class Start Time: 8 AM
Class Length: 4 to 5 HOURS (Depending on the class)
Location: 13695 CR 474, Lindale, TX
TO CONFIRM YOUR SPOT MORE THAN 5 DAYS OUT FROM CLASS DATE, PLEASE MAIL PAYMENT TO FREEDOM DEFENSE TRAINING, LLC AT 16482 CR 431, LINDALE TX 75771, ALONG WITH PARTICIPANT FORMS.
PLEASE BRING CASH IN THE EXACT AMOUNT OF $40.00 PER PARTICIPANT.
This fee covers the $15.00 class fee set by the State of Texas, and the $25 facility, snacks/drinks, ammunition and range fees. Students may also bring their own food or drinks if desired.
NOTE: ALL participants MUST provide either a Social Security number or driver’s license number, or both. This is especially important to bring for children who DO NOT have a driver’s license. Participants must be at least nine years of age to receive certification for the course. All participants must sign the registration form and waiver, or a parent/guardian must sign if under the age of 17. Parents/Guardians, do not drive away until this is complete!!!
- Part One In Process – You must first go online to the link below and successfully complete the online class. Parents, you may help your children as needed if they have questions. After completing Part 1 of Home Study course, which is the homework online, print out the results (for FREE TPWD Home Study online course , print each chapter’s quiz results. For other options, print Voucher or Certificate) and present to TPWD certified instructor at the Hunter’s Education Field Day. LINK TO ONLINE INSTRUCTION.
- Part Two: Hunter’s Education Field Day – The Hunter’s Education Field Day includes a presentation of ethical and responsible hunting, participation in a hunting skills trial, a live fire exercise, review of regulations and a final exam (must score at least 80% to pass). The Field Day is completed in one day. You must pre-register for this course with us to reserve a seat and check our calendar for available classes. (Honorably discharged or active military are exempt from live fire exercises only).
Upon successful completion of Parts 1 and 2 of the Home Study course, you will receive a temporary Texas Hunter Education student card. Your instructor will send in the originals for processing. You may legally hunt with a valid Texas hunting license and your temporary student certification card. Your permanent Texas Hunter Education certification card will be mailed within a few weeks.
What Is Covered:
The mandatory requirements for TPWD Hunters Education Certification – Hunter’s Safety, Outdoor Responsibility, Ethics, Laws & Regulations, Wildlife Conservation, Management, Hunting Traditions, Field Care of Game, Wilderness First Aid, Basic Survival, Firearms Handling, Operation ans Basic Marksmanship.
What NOT to Bring:
LIVE FIRE SPECIAL NOTE: Everything is provided to successfully complete the course. Do NOT bring personal firearms or ammunition to the class.
Patience and Flexibility:
Be prepared to be hot, cold, and/or wet, because we will be outdoors some of the time. It is a long day but we will take plenty of breaks!
Course Length: Varies
Cost: $50 1st Hour, $25/hr Additional Hours, Private One On One (2 or more students receive $10 off per student)
We can train your children in firearm safety and basic shooting principles with your choice of pistol, rifle or shotgun. This course teaches your youth the importance of handling firearms safely, teaches sight alignment, proper support and balance, trigger control and basic marksmanship skills.
PERSONAL DEFENSE TRAINING (AGE 5 – 17)
Cost: $30 per child/$100 per family/Group rates on 4 or More
Teaches basic techniques and skills designed to escape a attack or abduction-training includes weapons of opportunity identification and use, personal alarms, and basic skills and training for personal defense designed for children.
OUTDOOR SKILLS TRAINING
Cost: Contact Us for individual and group pricing.
- Fire Building
- Emergency First Aid
- Emergency Shelter Construction
- Outdoor Marksmanship and More